Senate CJS Subcommittee Takes Shape for 118th Congress

Many Congressional committee and subcommittee assignments of impact on the decennial census and American Community Survey (ACS) are already sorted out, but we finally have clarity on the primary drivers of funding in the Senate.

The Senate Commerce Justice Science (CJS) Appropriations Subcommittee, which has jurisdiction over funding for the Census Bureau, will be chaired by Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), with Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS) serving as ranking member.

Democrat Senators on the subcommittee include Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Jack Reed (D-RI), Chris Coons (D-DE), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Gary Peters (D-MI).

Republican Senators on the subcommittee include Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Susan Collins (R-ME), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Kennedy (R-LA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Katie Britt (R-AL), and Deb Fischer (R-NE).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s